Manual anonymization

There may be instances when an individual asks for their data to be anonymized on an ad-hoc basis. Manual anonymization allows for this in the most common scenarios.

Clicking ‘Anonymize...’ will show you a message that either asks you if you would like to proceed with the anonymization, or will inform you that it is not possible to anonymize the person.

Restrictions include:

  • Being registered to a future event but the registration is not cancelled
  • Being registered to a future event but the payment status is not "Paid"
  • Their last used date is today

If it is possible to anonymize the person and you proceed, the person will be anonymized immediately. It will not be possible to undo this action.

Who can manually anonymize people?

This feature is available to any user who has been given the role function "Anonymize Personal Information". With this function, the user will see the "Anonymize..." button on the person details page.

To add this feature to a role:

  1. Go to System Settings > Roles
  2. Click to 'edit' the role type you wish the function to be added to
  3. In the panel ‘Access Rights', locate the "Anonymize Personal Information" function and select it
  4. Click the 'Tools' dropdown
  5. Select "Activate..."
  6. Click "Ok"

All users with that role type will now see the "Anonymize..." button.

Deletion of email

Anonymizing an email involves deleting its contents, anonymizing the email headers, and unlinking the email from person history records.  

The deletion date for emails will be calculated from the date they were sent, which may include emails for people that are not getting anonymized until a future date. Email content is either deleted after 12 months, or the number of months specified on the “Data Protection (GDPR)” page, whichever comes first. If the anonymization date is set to anything greater than 12 months, the content will be deleted after 12 months but the information in the header will remain until the scheduled anonymization date.  

For example, if you have set up your data protection to ‘Anonymize and delete data after’ “6” months, all emails sent more than 6 months ago will be anonymized. If you have set up your data protection to ‘Anonymize and delete data after’ “24” months, email content will be deleted after 12 months.

Testing your data retention policy in your sandbox

Before setting up a policy for your data retention in Eventsforce, we would strongly recommend that you test the functionality in your sandbox account as the feature is destructive and it will not be possible to revert the actions.

It would be best to look for your oldest data and enter values on the data protection page to suit. For example, if you have registrations or submissions that are 4 years old, enter values of 48 months. The automatic anonymization will happen at 00:10 UTC. If you want to test a different scenario, look for your next oldest data, for example, 3 years and enter 36 months and so on.

Manual anonymization is immediate so you could look for any record and click the anonymize button.

Other articles you may be interested in:

Did this answer your question?