For information on how to identify attendees, please see: Registration Mode (identify attendees using...).
How your website is accessed is one of the first and most important decisions you need to make when you are creating your event. This determines who can access your website and register for your event. There are three options we provide:
- Registration and event website are public
- Registration and event website are private using a shared entry code
- Registration is invitation-only
Registration and Event Website are "Public"
This allows any person who obtains the link to view the event website and register for your event. This is best used if you expect attendees to share your registration link with friends, such as forwarding the invitation. This is the default mode for new events.
Registration and Event Website are "Private" using a shared entry code
This setting restricts both the event website and registration behind a shared "entry code". This functions similar to a "password", which is given only to those who can view your website and register.
Entry codes are added using the "Manage entry codes..." button. Codes can also be stored against a question in your event.
A personal link will allow the user to bypass the shared entry code page (as they are already recognized). Those using a generic link will see the below screen:
Registration is "Invitation only"
This setting requires you to invite people to your event. Only the people on the invitation list for the event will be able to register. This is the most effective way of restricting who is allowed to register.
If a generic link is used, registration requires both an email and password. Password can be bypassed when a "personal link" is used. An example of a generic link being used is shown below:
Event website is also invitation-only
When this setting is enabled, it will only allow people on the invitation list for your event to access the front-end website and continue on to register.
When disabled, anyone with the event home page link can view your website. However, only those on your invitation list can actually register.
Start registration after login
If enabled, the attendee will be taken directly to the registration page after login rather than to the event website.
If disabled, attendee will be taken to the home page upon logging in.
If using personal links, you can control which page the person is taken to by which personal link you provide. For example, a "personal registration link" will lead to the registration page while the "personal event link" will lead to the event's home page.
Allowed combinations and restrictions
The following chart will highlight the above modes and registration option combinations that are allowed. "Shared website entry code" is allowed with any registration combination.
Note: Group registrations in combination with Private access will only restrict the initial login to the registration process. Once past the login page, the lead registration contact will be able to register attendees without the need to be on the invitation list.